Web 2.0

Cherizza Almario

Software Above the Level of a Single Device

The 4th pattern in Web 2.0 Applications? Software above the level of a single device.

I found that this was an interesting topic as within the last few years, there have been a clear growth in numbers of applications being released for more than one platform (desktop, iOS, Mac OS, Android).

As discussed in the lecture, users are collaborating more and more with other users around the world in an effort to enhance the content and seamless access of the application.

A lot of web applications were discussed this week – which makes it harder to find more examples! I’ve got 2 application that I wanted to share this week…

One …  the photo sharing app, Instagram (this might be a popular blog post choice for fellow INB347’ers) Similar to Flickr, Shozu and ZipPhoto, Instagram lets you instantly capture, edit and share your photos from your iPhone, iPad and Android mobile device. Instagram seamlessly integrates with Facebook, Twitter and Tumblr – all in the one app.

Instagram has become such a popular app as it has created another community. Users are able to follow each other and receive real time feeds on uploaded photos. Even though Instagram connects perfectly with Facebook and other social media applications, Instagram has definitely made a mark of its own. It has become so popular that it’s now even the new corporate social media tool – with many businesses jumping on the bandwagon.

The second app I am extremely fond of and wanted to share is the application called Evernote. Evernote is an application in which you save ‘notes’. These notes can be absolutely anything – from ideas, things you like, hear, see, draw etc. It’s basically a virtual notepad, and although it doesn’t seem as flash as all the other applications out there, it truly is one of my favourites and definitely most used.

The best thing about Evernote is that it is compatible with pretty much EVERY computer, phone and mobile device. To use Evernote, you will have to create and account and download and install their program/application onto your device – but that’s when it becomes really handy.

Evernote is a great example of the Best Practice rule – ‘Enable data location independence‘.

For each device that has Evernote installed, you are able to seamlessly access your Evernote ‘notepad’ and sync any updated information. This means that what ever changes you make on one device, will be shown all your devices. I have used this plenty of times – making quick notes on my laptop and then refining and maybe organising on my desktop. If you haven’t already, you should definitely give it a go!

 

REFERENCES

Remember everything with Evernote, Skitch and our other great apps. | Evernote. 2012. Remember everything with Evernote, Skitch and our other great apps. | Evernote. [ONLINE] Available at: http://www.evernote.com/. [Accessed 20 April 2012].

 

instagr.am. 2012. instagr.am. [ONLINE] Available at: http://instagr.am/. [Accessed 20 April 2012].

12 comments on “Software Above the Level of a Single Device

  1. digitalrainforest
    April 20, 2012

    I have heard about Evernote before, and while it’s an interesting concept, I’m always worried about the privacy implications of using such service. Call me paranoid and “old fashioned”, but I’d much more prefer using a trusty “old” USB stick than uploading my private notes to someone’s server over a non-secure HTTP connection… What are your thoughts about this?

    • cherizza.almario
      April 22, 2012

      People always have issues with privacy when using web applications. Honestly, I think there is no way to avoid sharing information, especially when using apps – let alone cloud storage. Basically, if you’re that paranoid about security…web applications would be a nightmare.

    • zhuoranzhang
      April 22, 2012

      I think, actually, Evernote may have more security level than USB stick. as i know, millions people lost their USB disk every week (i do not how many USB disk I have lost in my past life). however, if people do not release their password or username, nobody can read you own inform. In addition the host company they won’t release your inform, otherwise you can sue them. nobody what be sued i think

  2. zhuoranzhang
    April 22, 2012

    I really like Evernote! and i think, “Enable data location independence” may be the most important benefit that “cloud storage” provide to me, someone who have a very bad memory! in addition, Evernote is one application that really above one level devices. as i know, it almost can be implemented in all current platform, no matter desktop such as windows, Mac OS or Linux or mobile devices like android, IOS, even Web OS (i thought it will disappear in the future). How amazing it is!
    Finally, nice post! thank you!

    • cherizza.almario
      April 22, 2012

      Yep – totally agree. I’m a huge fan of cloud storage. Google Docs is another fave of mine…especially for uni assignments 🙂

  3. osfernandes
    April 22, 2012

    Hi there, first I would like to say that your Blog page looks very good and attractive with a brief of all your posts.
    I think I have used Evernote before and seemed be really useful, easy to manage and install. I guess for being a really simple application, it is easy to make it available for many other platforms. However, I am not sure how would it work for applications with more advanced features such as Office package from Microsoft. Would Web2.0 technologies been capable to create such powerful, full of features applications at the same level as those one that we need to install on the devices. I think Web 2.0 still have its limitations but it is growing so fast that It would not will be an issue in a near future 🙂

    Feel free to check my out and see what you think about the example I have posted 🙂 see you Amigo

    Great post!

    • cherizza.almario
      April 22, 2012

      Hi! thanks for commenting and following my blog 🙂
      I don’t know if I’d necessarily compare Evernote to Microsoft Office as Evernote is kind of just like a cloud storage app, whereas Office is a word/document processing application.

      I think web 2.0 is quite close to coming out with applications very similar to Microsoft Office. Google Docs is quite close I believe…it might not have macros and everything else that may come with Microsoft Word…but still gets the basics done.
      I’m sure that if you did research, there would definitely be something else out there just as powerful

  4. Hi there, first I would like to say that your Blog page looks very good and attractive with a brief of all your posts.
    I think I have used Evernote before and seemed be really useful, easy to manage and install. I guess for being a really simple application, it is easy to make it available for many other platforms. However, I am not sure how would it work for applications with more advanced features such as Office package from Microsoft. Would Web2.0 technologies been capable to create such powerful, full of features applications at the same level as those one that we need to install on the devices. I think Web 2.0 still have its limitations but it is growing so fast that It would not will be an issue in a near future 🙂

    Feel free to check my out and see what you think about the example I have posted 🙂 see you Amigo

    Great post!

  5. laurencemccabe
    April 22, 2012

    Nice choice in applications Cherriza. They are well designed for multiple platforms. I am curious if you know of any other applications that are offering a similar service, and if so what sets these 2 apart from them? Also are there any types of security issues with using these applications; does it have good security measures set up so others cannot access or use your information (maybe passwords) ? Keep up the good work:)

  6. colhili
    April 26, 2012

    Since others have pointed out that they have security issues with Evernote, I wanted to throw in my two cents. Just like Dropbox, Evernote’s freemium model does not use the data they host. Essentially, all the data you post you still own. People have mentioned that a physical USB stick can easily be stolen.

    If you could choose a personal security layer for such a service what would it be? I believe that integrating a mobile number (much like Google does and Banks) to text you a 4-digit number in addition to your password makes the service already much better then a physical storage solution.

    • cherizza.almario
      April 28, 2012

      Integrating a mobile number confirmation is an easy security layer and I suppose including ‘personal questions’.
      For someone like me though, who does not really use web applications for anything too private, I just find those extra security measures annoying..lol!

  7. andrejtf
    May 21, 2012

    Evernote is one of the pioneers i cloud stored applications and information, however the problem is that any bright boy with a little programming experience and cash can enter the market and try to duplicate Evernote or even Instagram. People have to fid and learn to defend their niches in order to grow and prosper

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 20, 2012 by and tagged , , , , , , .
